Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement claims that the people in power in any area, be it business, politics, education or government, must not have a tenure exceeding five years. The reason provided being that the revitalization that these changes bring would pave the surest path to the success of the enterprise.

Change is the law of nature, the old has to make way for the new in a constant, continuous cycle. Any organisation that desires to succeed has to embrace the virtue of adaptability. From the biological ecosystems to the corporate conglomerates to the deemed universities, survival of the fittest is the way of life. Leadership, at every stage, is responsible for this adaptation that must be adopted for the organisation to survive, and indeed, thrive. It goes without saying that the very structure responsible for the reaction to change is not left stagnant. Those in power, making the decisions that shape the future of the organisation, must themselves not remain immovable, unchangeable individuals. New leadership, after an appropriate amount of time, should replace the status quo, ushering in novel solutions to problems and greater successes for the enterprise.

While I agree with the claim that those in power must step down after five years in most fields, I believe it would prove less than beneficial in some others. In politics, in governments and related enterprises where power comes with the mandate of the public, it is imperative that the authority to choose their leaders, on the basis of their performance, remain in the hands of the common man through the electoral system. In certain ventures, however, the experience that comes with time is invaluable and greatly add to the organisation’s success. In privately owned or business enterprises, or even the education system, to ask a leader to step down by five years would undermine her expertise and knowledge and lead to squandering of the opportunity to utilise it to reach greater heights. For instance, an experienced manager of a business would know about the workings of the market and be able to predict its response to a product with greater precision than a less experienced individual with the same credentials could.

In my opinion, the reason provided to substantiate the claim is not without error. There is no one sure path to success. It is an outcome, subjected to a multitude of conditions. Revitalisation, while important, does not always guarantee gains. A complete reordering of an organisation, disrupting the well-oiled machinery of workers that has assembled over the course of time, may well prove to be a disruption that causes it considerable losses. New leadership may in some cases prove a favourable change, and in some others a disastrous one.