Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Leadership in business, politics, education, government, greatly determine the efficiency and potential success in society. A good leader can enable the workers, citizens, students to devote themselves to society; while a bad leader may result in people’s resisting on every policy by this leader, contributing to other aspects of protests. However, whether leaders should step down after five years, from my perspective, depend on whether they have the ability to be satisfying leaders instead of the time length in power.

It is true that long time in power might trigger corruption. For instance, the leader in government utilizes his power to govern the citizens with disparity, but other workers are not brave enough to question his measurements for fear of losing their jobs. Then this kind of leader should step down absolutely after five years. Also, as time goes by, the leader’s mind may not quickly catch up with the development of the society. Take education for example. As the means of teaching and learning become increasingly various, if the policy-makers continue grading the teachers and students with the same level ten years before, then those leaders in the education administration should be changed with new-generation managers.

However, whether revitalization through new leadership can surely generate success remains doubtful in some fields. For a competitive business company, the policy of the leader has the decisive influence of the company. Five years is not long for a growing company. And the teamwork exert positive effects on the efficiency which may contribute greatly to the profits of the company. If the leader is changed frequently, it is a waste of time for workers to accustom themselves to the new leader, which may seriously result in the failure of the whole company. In such a company whose founders are of great importance, frequently changing the manager can lead to the whole failure of the company.

What’s more, it is doubtful whether revitalization is the surest path to success. The critical way to success is not the leader, but the whole workers in the company. The leader is only a part of a company, the profits and policies are collectively made by all instead of the leader solely. Only changing the leadership doesn’t necessarily guarantee a better chance of succeeding. For business, high efficiency is the main factor of earning more money. For education, the teaching method of teachers are of great importance. After all it is teachers other than the ministration who interact the students directly. And it is teachers who impart knowledge that determine the future of a country.

We cannot hastily put forward a conclusion that because revitalization is the surest path to success, we should apply this to every field in power. Given the fact that every field has its distinctions and characteristics, the claim is not in favor of every field. For every field, whether the leadership should be changed every five years is dependent on the need and the potential impacts.