Claim The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint Reason Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea Write a respo

Whether valuing one’s own ideas requires challenging them against the views of

others is a contested position. This is problematic when we seek to choose the proper

action, especially when it comes to religious beliefs and political ideals. It seems

though that convincing those who have an alternative perspective on a specific topic

will ultimately be what allows us to recognize the value of our own stance.

Some argue that the values of our ideas are realized without being discussed with

those holding a different point of view. The proponents of this position claim that as

long as we are convinced of our views, then there will be no need to challenge them

by considering the ideas of others. For example, let us consider religious beliefs. One

may argue that it will be unnecessary to establish any exchange of ideas between

different religions, as such exchange will have no effect at all. Religious arguments are

presented in the first place to be upheld by faith and not reason. Accordingly, such

ideas should not be contested and contrasted with others, as that will only lead to

religious tension. Religious tension in the first place is the outcome of dominant

religious groups trying to force their views on others who hold different beliefs.

Nevertheless, it seems it is still necessary to challenge our positions against the critical

arguments especially of those who have an opposing view. The main force of this

argument stems from the claim made by John Stuart Mill of the fallibility of our ideas. This

view has also been advocated by a number of contemporary philosophers, especially

Jurgen Habermas. The recognition that our arguments are fallible will urge us to

continuously consider alternatives while contesting our beliefs against those of others. In

the case of international terrorism, for instance, we do believe that considering the view

of others is required. The destruction of the twin towers in New York possibly would not

have occurred if there had been any dialogue between the two contesting parties. The

notion of utilizing terrorism for arriving at particular political goals would be subjected to

thorough criticism. Consequently, those who appeal to terrorism as a legitimate mean to

arriving at ends will in the least recognize the fallibility of their position beforehand. This

however can only be done through contesting it against those who hold a different view

and not against those who are already convinced of the legitimacy of terrorism.

Ultimately, it seems that challenging our views against contrasting perspectives

does appear to be the best way to test the soundness of an idea. This stems primarily

for our recognition of the fallibility of our ideas. Therefore, we should always consider

any argument we hold to be contestable. This will prompt us to discuss our ideas

against people who hold opposing views first and foremost in order to see whether

our beliefs are right or not.