Claim: The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political t

The issue stated is a contentious one. While both sides has it strengths and weaknesses, I believe the "blogosphere" and social media has little or no on effect of quality discourse in the United States. I disagree with the claim.

Firstly, when a news is passed across to the public, what determines the authenticity of such news is the source. To confirm a news heard from an unknown or unreliable source, one will go ahead and check from trusted sources. For instance, if a news is going around on blogs and social media that New Jersey is about to be made the capital of United States, even if the news is true, after reading such news on blogs and social media, one still check CNN or FOX News to confirm the news. CNN and Fox news are example of verified sources.

Secondly, America is a beautiful country that allows everybody to have a freedom of speech, freedom to express their mind. Because a news is written on a blog doesn't make it legitimate. Author of the blog might just be writing from his or her own point of view, and reading one point of view about a particular news from an unverified source isn't a good way to get authentic news. One must revert to the authenticated and verified source.

Thirdly, the author gave a reason that because anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably reduce. I disagree with this. Publication from just "anyone" does not mean that people will believe such publication. People refute unbelievable publications nowadays.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the claim and reason.