Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The issue topic states that students should give more emphasis on picking some worthy goals. Students at a particular time in their life have heard that ‘follow your dreams’ but for the most of the students, their dreams always remain imaginary and most of the time end-up struggling for some other worthy goal.

Every student in his/her young age aspires to become something in his/her life. Some might dream to be a doctor, engineer, astronaut, actor, singer, dancer, etc., Dreams such as to become a doctor or an engineer is considered to be worthy enough and the society supports such dreams. But the children dreaming about becoming a singer, an eloquent dancer, etc., such dreams are not considered to be worthy enough and such students/ children are forced to pickup some worthy goal such as doctor or an engineer.

As the children grow, their liking change and might be their dream also changes and after few years they are concrete about their dream and what they want to pursue in their life. Some young minds, have a selfish dream of only defaming some other person and to make them feel like they are unworthy enough by just being better than them. Such thoughts should be stopped.

However, the issue statement has some points that should also be considered and looked upon. Sometimes by pursing our dreams we cannot fulfill the requirements of our life, in such cases students should try to give more emphasis on a career because of which they can fulfill their needs and also give time to pursue their dream. Many people achieve substantially but it is not always the same for everyone.

Although, to some extent I agree with the statement because even if everyone wants to achieve their dream goal, sometimes it is not possible and this is the harsh fact many might have to face. So, from the points I have stated above I think that everyone should decide depending on the situation they are in.