Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

People are born with different dreams; everyone’s dream is unique and achievable when it is backed up by dream-helpers. It is true that young people are always advised to follow their dreams, but this is not enough to always getting mind-blowing results, their is need for people around to counsel based on their experience.

When I was growung up there is this popular dream among my peers, and that is to become: a Lawyer, a Medical Doctor, or a Pharmacist. I grew with the mentality that those professions will make one to be a great person, and people around me will lionize me. Though I hate injection or seeing a dead body, but I stiill want to go for it not minding my fears. I appreciate one of my uncle who counselled me on that faithful day; enlightened me that “to be great in life is not just about doing what you think is right, but it is about one doing what you are good at; that will benefit you, and your community”. I might have ended up pursuing being a Medical Doctor that I would not eventually have the concern for people but just to popularize me and also to be rich.

Some individuals have choosed some course in school that does not really worth their effort; they are regretting it. A banker in Nigeria once says and I paraphrased that “all the time I spent in my early days in school were just wasted”. This is because he studied Biochemistry because he just loves the name “Biochemist”. On finishing his undergraduate he faced the reality and understood that good life is not just about acquiring the name. He later end up doing another undergraduate course, which he later folowed with passsion and was of great help to His community.

While some may say this is not true, if you see anyone not being fufilled in their career, check their motive for choosing the career. This is why proper guidiance is needed for young people dreaming, so that they get it right before it is too late and for early productivity.