Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which

The youth of the current generation are very ambitious and replete with ideas and dreams that they want to execute and achieve in life. While some of these dreams may be arising out of self-interest, it is rather naïve to think that these dreams are not worthy and that the youth should be dictated to work towards some few “worthy” goals. Furthermore, to believe that most people’s dreams are selfish and are only self-motivated is presumptuous, as past historical events- and dreams- will have you believe otherwise.

Picking up and following worthy goals in life is commendable and something that the society will praise. This does not go to say that only certain goals-which the society deems worthy- are to be followed in ones life’s pursuit. Individual and new goals motivated by one’s own dreams can also be worthy goals. When Martin Luther King Junior said in his famous speech that he had a dream to end the racial injustice and slavery in America, was it not a worthy goal? Or when Mahatma Gandhi had envisioned an independent country free from the British rule, was that dream too, unworthy ? It were these dreams that ignited the struggle for freedom in India and the paved the way for successfully abolishing slavery in America. Will anyone dare call these dreams unworthy in this day and age? This goes to show that no matter what is the stimulus behind dreams, they too can be worthy. Following one’s dreams may not necessarily be deemed being selfish. Take the same example as before – Mahatma Gandhi’s dream of an independent India wasn’t a selfish one. On the contrary, it was one which voiced the dreams of several million other Indians. This dream eventually became a realty, albeit with great struggle, and has laid down the path for the modern day India.

It is rather easy to advice young people to follow worthy goals. But what exactly are these worthy goals and who decides what is and what is not worthy? What one may find worthy, may not be worthy for someone else. A religious priest would advise his son to prioritize worship and prayer over everything else, whereas for a scientist, the worthy goal of finding the cure to cancer would be demanded of. The realm of virtues and worthiness is so vast that one could make a case for a bad deed to be worthy too. A young man today is better off following his dreams and ambitions rather than chasing some goal (for which he may not even have the skill) that the world views as worthy.

If everyone were to follow “worthy goals” while leaving aside their dreams and ambitions, then the world would not have developed as much as it has today. Perhaps man wouldn’t have stepped into outer space, women would be treated as inferior beings, America would still be bereft with racial differences and India would not be a free country. All because it was apparently too selfish to dream.