Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support

they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved andgenerated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim that governments should allocate more budgets to their major cities because cultural traditions will be generated and preserved in these cities is not logical. Usually as a general principle governments have to look at all cities with the same eye and avoid any discriminating policy to keep the equilibrium in the country. Personally, I think cultural values will be preserved by people not cities so the governments should provide opportunities for every individual to grow well and consequently help the culture by appropriate behavior. Moreover, investing on peaceful activities with the aim of enhancing international amity can promote cultural values and help the preserving customs or norms.

Firstly, If a government spends all the money for its major cities in the hope of developing cultural values, then this is a corrupt administration that neglects small cities. This policy would gradually destroy all of moral and ethical principles even those cultural values will be diminished because people feel indiscrimination and stop respect to values. For example, Iranian government always boasts about reach cultural values upon which Iranian society has been built and exhibits these values pays huge prices to major cities municipalities such as Tehran, Isfahahan or Tabriz. However, when tourists or statesman visit small cities or remote regions in Iran, they encounter the dark side of that exhibition which consisted of poverty, illiteracy and low standards of living. They soon become aware the fake show offs of the government and the policy makers cannot reach their goals. Therefore, the government has to provide a wide coverage which acts like an umbrella to preserve cultural values in the whole country.

Besides spending money, the governments need to pay attention to promotional activities to enhance cultural values of their country. In this case, the policy makers have to establish effective peaceful relationship with other countries and try to advertise their cultural values through different channels of another country. Japan government’s efforts to distribute its cultural values to other countries of the world is a nice example to illuminate this concept. One of their promotional activities was inviting job applicants from other Asian countries to work in Japan which was based on a suitable paying system that could attract many young people to go there. By doing this, Japan government successfully injected Japanese cultural values to their guests so when prior workers and currently masters came back to their homelands they subconsciously began utilizing those values in the daily life. Thus, a wise government has to work on building effective peaceful relationship with other countries to promote its cultural values by investing on promotional campaigns.

In summary, The governments defiantly can help preserving and generating cultural values but they need to focus on not only major cities but also small cities that can play a crucial role to the culture. Other thing that helps governments reach their goals in terms of culture is investing on establishing friendly relationship with other countries to promote cultural values.