Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Man is the only social animal on this planet. Despite of being in a survivable planet, man’s propensity to lead the sophisticated life made him to build his own world on Earth. In this contemporary world, where the technological advantages are taking place in higher alacrity, the rustic cultural aspects are left bereft by man in such rate itself. But even today, such cultural traditions are found and followed in villages and country sides of the nation. It is villages on which the city people depend on adapting the rustic and pristine cultures in order to balance their urban quotidian humdrum. Hence I disagree that that it is necessary for cities to receive the financial need where as the villages are in need of it more than the cities as they are the ones who protect and preserve the cultural traditions.

Firstly, the cities are being made by developing a particular village.Take for example Bangalore, which is now called as a Silicon city and a IT hub of India. But prior being named so, it was a village with the rich Indian cultures and traditions by name ‘Bendakaaluru’. It’s apt weather and land for construction of city was recognized by Kempegouda who built the city later on. Despite the decrease in cultural aspects as the cities grew and the Western advent took place at the area, when people visit the villages surrounding the city experience the cultural shock. Therefore, this instance proves that it is the villages that preserve the traditions that represent the nation. If they are given the financial aid, then they sustain for longer period.

Moreover, the villages maintain the pristine nature and some of the bucolic medical practices proved to be better than the modern Allopathy medicines. For example, Ayurveda, which was originated in ancient India is still being practiced in the city areas by taking the village products. The Ayurvedic products proved to have no side effects to any kind of diseases are viable medicines to intake to cure any kind of disease. This cultural aspect that comes under the domain of health care comes from villages not from urban areas. Thus in order for these kind of practices to suffice, the villages have to be financed. In turn which is meant to state that the cultural traditions are protected not by funding cities.

There are some cases that the people might argue that the immigrants and the tourists from other countries come to cities if they visit the country. Hence, in order to make them acknowledged with our traditions we have to grow such traditional practices in cities by funding them. But, it is not forgettable that the resource for organizing such practices is from the village areas itself.

In a nutshell, the cultural traditions are being known to us not from the cities. They are being contrived by certain ways in the rustic areas with certain rules and regulations. The villages are the past of the cities, where the culture exists in a copious amount where as it is in the state of paucity in many city areas. These cultures and traditions not only build us as a proper personality but also help us to represent our nation. But, as these are only alive mostly in the village areas, it would be ineffective if one decides to finance the cities in order to preserve such traditions.