A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

According to the author of the letter which is sent to the editor of a scientific journal, the individual’s levels of simulation is being strongly affected by the birth orders based on the studies conducted over around eighteen rhesus monkeys. However, the conclusion made by the author might hold water, it relies on several unfounded assumptions if not substantiated in a viable manner might dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

The author came to the conclusion that is universal or with respect to each and every viviparous individual based upon the studies carried over the handful of animals. Hence the question that arise at this point is that is it viable to embark the results of species of particular esoteric class? The individual levels of stimulation possibly be different for different animals unless the given study is conducted over considerable types of species. Hence if the author of the letter considers this condition, then the assertion made by him/her is considerably hampered.

For the process of sexual reproduction, there is the necessity of both male and female animals. Hence it can be questioned that for the simulation of the individuals, only the female animal’s characteristics are utilized leaving the male characters? The production of hormone called cortisol by the “just born” infants is being attributed to the stimulation of it’s parent (mother). Along with the hormone cortisol, there must be the role of male animal in the production of young ones. Unless there is a role of the male hormones, female biological elements are marooned to give birth for the young ones. The number of animals taken to account this study may be quite less to come to conclusion for asserting such statement over each and every mammal’s characteristic. Therefore if the author has looked up over this area of study, then he/she might have changed his/her mind over their assertion.

In a nutshell, while the author of the letter may have come to the second conclusion that the individual’s levels of simulation is being strongly affected by the birth orders based on the studies conducted over around eighteen rhesus monkeys, more data is needed to come to the firm conclusion. But if the author answers the questions put forth regarding the male animal’s activity in reproduction or the other attributes too make to be the factors for the stimulations and also if study over only one kind of animal species or (also the number of species) is enough to conclude, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument .