According to the given statement, the graduates from the Omega University will get placed in better jobs if the university terminates it’s new procedure of evaluation of professors by the students which could inflate their scores given by the former. However, the definitive assertion made in this statement might hold water if some of the unfounded assumptions if not substantiated in a viable manner may dramatically decrease the persuasiveness of the argument made.

First of all, it is stated that it is the ‘new’ procedure which is currently being followed by the University. It has been failed to mention that since how many years this practice is being done. If this practice is being carried on since an year or two, then certainly there is a need to hold on for few more years without banishing but tweaking the procedure. For example, the inflated marks maybe on the bases of questions asked during that former process of “professors’ evaluation”. It may consists of only the bad traits or biased type of questions for the students to answer. Hence forth, any kind of results of such new sedulous procedure needs many years until it tends to become effective. Therefore, it is re-thinkable that the procedure carried out by the university is wittingly the reason for the failure of the students to get proper jobs.

The poor job achievement by the students is attributed solely to the “evaluating” procedure of the University. But, there may be other factors that the companies consider too for hiring students from the university. It may be aptitude, Verbals, Programming (if IT sector) and so on, on which company may provide the jobs despite the poor GPAs. Thus, if this conjecture is considered, then the argument made in the statement might get tweaked to the considerable factor regarding the career of the outgoing students from Omega University.

It is also mentioned that Alpha university students get higher jobs then the Omega University pupils. But, it is not mentioned if the Alpha University uses this procedure of students evaluating professors as well. It is also not considered that what extra coaching the students in the Alpha University get to bag the proper placements. For an instance, the Alpha University might teach Soft skills to it’s students in a copious amount which might be concentrated less in the Omega University. Hence, if these unfound assumptions are clarified by the statement, then the argument will be a credulous one.

In a nutshell, the given statement provides a conjecture that the new procedure followed by the University of Omega has to be squashed in order for the students to achieve un-inflated scores without making the professors averred. Furthermore, the students getting high end jobs. However, if the substantiations provided- the other attributes regarding the job selection by the companies, the other courses to be put forth and so on- are considered, then there might be a second conclusion on the assertion made.