Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Should governments put more emphasize in financing major cities rather than provincial areas? While it is right that major cities should receive superior financial support, it is rarely because cultural traditions are generated or preserved inside them. Quite the contrary, national cultural traditions are most often found in smaller cities and villages, many of them home to internationally recognized historical sites. In fact, one of the reasons some might argue that financial support should be directed towards smaller cities is preservance of such cultural heritage.

Major cities, like London are places where a considerable number of people are living. That being said, it is obvious that when population increases in an area, the need for infrastructure and public services rises. The cost of making an ungerground waste collection system, along with costs of providing healthcare for everyone in London, justifies a great deal of financial support from the government.

Aside from a great deal of population, major cities are almost always home to a nation's best universities. For example London has several well-known universities including the King's College. Funding a major city like London, means better ameneties for London universities which will ultimately result in scientific and technological advancements for a country.

Also, major cities shape the international fame of a country. When people are asked about United States, more often than not, they remember the skyscrapers of New York. Financing major cities in country helps those cities to modernize faster and present a better picture of the country to the world.

Ultimately, providing financial support for major cities is a great idea. Not because it helps preserving cultural signature of a country, but rather because it helps a nation to move forward.