Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim asserted is valid and major cities deserve goverment assistance to survive along with the rational used to justfy the claim.

Major cities within the United States do contribute significanlty to the perception of the US, and by extention, Westerness across the globe. Take for instance New York. Dubbed the World's city, New York City holds the one of largest populations within the country and is home to several enclaves of cultures and ethnic groups. Its existence mirrors the worldly image often embedded in American ideals and nationalism; that is, the United States is welcoming of everyone as well as the US position as a giant in the global market. Futhermore, the city has been popularized within US media as an urban jungle with the seemengly mystical potential to give everyone an opportunity (regardless of backgroud) the potential to make it big. This too, mirrors the US's cultural belief of metrocracy and individualism-the assupmption it is within one's hardwork and efforts that great success can be achieved. Thus, a major city like New York acts as a symbolic representation of US ideals and by preserving the city through Goverment funding, the US can also act to perserve US ideals.

While the arguement can be made that other cities too can embody a nation's culture, major cities are unique in that they have more visiblity and attraction, able to gather more traction within the global stage. Los Angeles for instance, brings forth more tourism than Aniheim, CA. This makes it more easier for outsiders to have a better understanding of the city itself. It also makes it more appealing to goverment officals to utilze its popularity to their advantage, parterning with the city to develop more cultural attractions that demostrate the US ideals and cultures. Similar to New York, Los Angeles too carries within it a sense of diversity among it's inhabitants, while also presenting a different vibe and culture distinct to California within the West coast. These two cities combined also demostrate the vastness of the United States and the diversity presented within them.

However, there are limitations to the assuming that cities soley carry a nation's culture and using that for the justification to increase government spending to