Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The statement argue that major cities, where a nation's cultural traditons to be preserved and generated at first place, should receive financial support from government.If the government means local administration, which they must support in finance on duty,I agree with the claim.If it is a upper government , I partly disapprove this statement, which shows us regional dicscrimination.In this essay, I will approve the latter situation in my view with three points.

first of all, is it neccesary the major cities should get financial aid from the goventment. major cities, which are more resouceful compared with small ones, have a lot of conviniences to thrive.With more covinient traffic, they can absorb investments from the whole nation and abroad. thus there will be more tax income of local goverments, thus the goverments can reappropriate the money to the area, including the preservation of cities' national traditions, there the city need to.

Secondly,here is about the practical conditon a major city may confront, as we disscused the refinance of a major cities' government can make to the area which this topic emphasized.If they cannot fund enough money to presevation and generation of cultural taditons, they may solicit upper administration or congress, for example.Then the upper government will make choice on behalf of whole nation. so it is improper that the goventment help major cities' directly.

Third, the direct financial aid to major cities from upper goverments, what I concern about, may cause regional discrimination.it is a very prudent policy that preserve nation's cultural traditons, in that our heritage would know the history of ourselves.Preservantion of nation's cultural traditions, however, may exist everywhere in the country.2000 years ago, Beijing, the present capital of China, didn't show up then, meanwhile small cities like Luoyang were major ones, where some of vestiges were still underground now.If the major cities need help to preserve nation's cultural traditions, is it also necessary to research underground vestiges in small cities?I belive so, because they are on behalf of our nation's tradion either.

In conclusion, I dissaprove the statement that financial incling to major cities' preservation of nation's cultural traditions.