Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

There are a vast majority of people who live in major cities rather than rural areas. Even though cities have more people, it is wrongful to state that they need more financial support to thrive. Rural areas that account for our agricultural sustenance need financial support to thrive. Not to mention, the upkeep of farming and production of crops is physically exhausting. They are the founding fathers of tradition and where the cultural traditions were passed along.

The rural areas that give us our main food groups have to have the means to not only farm, but take care of their families. A farmer’s day would be waking up at 5:00am or earlier, attending to all the animals, attending to all the crop fields, and by doing this hoping he or she can sustain a comfortable life for his or her wife or kids. If farmers were able to gain more cash, then they would have a lighter load. The farmer could pay attention to a specific crop, or even a specific animal because most farmers I know had to have multiple outputs to receive decent income. Some farmers I knew in Oklahoma had a really hard time getting common luxuries without have to go out-of-town for an hour or so.

Not only does crop take a lot of financial stability, but it also is physically demanding. Think of a nurse that is on their feet for 12 hours or more at a time in the day. Now think of a farmer and what he has to do. Both are on their feet, but some may argue that farming is excruciating work and overtime if the farmer develops a back injury or worse, then who is to help them? Aiding the rural areas just makes sense to me.

While major cities harbor museums, rural areas pass on and generate traditions more closely. Since the statement above claims that major cities generate and preserve our traditions, I wanted to counter saying that rural areas are the real starters of tradition. In Oklahoma, we have something called an indian taco. It is all over the city restaurants and people love to get this food item at the fair, but where did the indian taco originate? Whenever the Native Americans were suppressed with little to not food, they had to fry bread as their nutrition source. Over time, they sort of passed this down and changed it from a food with a dark past to a food that everyone loves.