Claim Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture based instruction in college and university courses Reason It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers

The claim made by the author seems compelling for many reasons. There are a variety of ways in which a students understanding of a subject can be tested and one such way is group assignments.

Group assignments are a useful technique to improve many skills of students, such as interpersonal skills, communication skills, and presentation skills. By collaborating with peers, students are able to communicate with individuals with similar mindsets and thinking patterns. Hence they will feel more comfortable in being inquisitive and asking questions among the group. Some peers feel overwhelmed to ask their lecturers questions as they feel that it may be a stupid or illogical questions. Hence group assignments do provide a safe space for students to question and be innovative with the fields of study that they are pursuing. For example, a student may feel more comfortable asking her friend why inflation increases the cost of living than opposed to asking a lecturer who has a PhD in Economics.

Secondly, Peers are able to relate to one another better than Lecturers relating to students. Hence, when a peer is dubious about a certain topic, a fellow peer might make it more easier to understand by relating it to a real life example that he or she may face. For example, for the question on why inflation increases the cost of living, a peer may provide the example of how its more expensive to go out to the cinema now that ticket prices increases, hence your cost of living increases. Whereas lecturers may provide a more convoluted example such as inflation affects cost of living because the purchasing parity index falls. which may end up being more confusing for students. Hence students are able to relate more to one another.

In addition, it is also a good opportunity for the lecturer to identify is students have understood the course material that they are studying by allowing them to carry out group assignments such as presentations to the class. The lecturer can identify weak students and perhaps give them more attention in the future as well.

Furthermore, traditional lecture-based teaching can be quite banal and mundane for some students. Students may get physically tired and mentally distracted whilst sitting for hours at a stretch and listening to a lecturer speak about a certain topic. Sometimes, traditional lecture-based teaching allows students to be aloof as their minds are distracted with thoughts. Group assignments on the other hand compel them to be aware of their surroundings as they need to engage in physical activity such as talking, organizing the structure with their peers and presenting their work.

However, It is not cogent to substantially replace traditional based lecturing with group assignments as ultimately it is the lecture that has vast knowledge in the field of study and students must receive most of their knowledge through their lecturers rather than through their peers. There can be instances where students completely misunderstand their topic due to the absence of the lecturer's knowledge and have to spend time unlearning. Further, group assignments tend to be time consuming and unfair to certain students as well. Unfortunately, not all students are enthusiastic about their fields of study and may completely not contribute in the assignments leading to unfair scoring for some eager students.