Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

The author here claims, it is no longer possible for a society to regard a person as a hero. I mostly disagree with this claim for the following reasons which I will elucidate below. Nevertheless, I do concede that in some cases the media scrutiny would affect the reputation of the person.

First of all, I want to define ‘who is a hero?’ the answer to this question is ‘a person whose courage and achievements are admired by people is known as a hero

A 'hero' maybe different for different people. Like in my case, my father's courage to by a new house and his achievement to become the principal of a well-known institution brings up him to become my hero, a person who i really admire. Similarly different people may regard different people as their heroes. Hence it is still possible for a society to regard an individual as a hero.

Just like a coin has two sides, the above prompt has a negative consequence as well. For example, a politician, he might be a hero for major part of the society, but when the media scrutinize him and all the wrongdoings and corruption done by him, his reputation will of course get hampered and eventually his career would diminish.

However, not all heroes are have done wrongdoings, intact most of them are true and even if they face media scrutiny eventually, they are going to come out of it as truthful. Because the truth always wins.

In conclusion, it is possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero and not all media scrutiny would lead to diminish the reputation of a person. Until and unless the person is true and genuine no one can hamper the reputation of thy.