Heroes are the glues of a community. Citizens look up to their heroes, especially in times of distress, to gain insight and survive. For the very same reason, heroism can also be misused for gain influence and personal gain. Media should be looked at as a checkpoint which filters out the unscrupulous heroes. If a hero is a real hero, then no scrutiny can damage it.

Media scrutiny is, for the most part, innocuous. A robust competitive media industry can lead to transparency and unfolding the truth about a supposedly heroic act. For example, a businessman can donate charities and represent him, or herself as a philanthropist who cares about his community. While this gesture might look very innocent and munificent, it can also serve as a mean to personal gain for that businessman. Be it through tax breaks, or to cover up other wrongdoings that he/she might have done. An investigation by media, whatever the motivation is, can reveal this. Therefore, media should scrutinize any heroic claim, with its utmost power, to betray any ill-will.

On the other hand, a hero becomes a hero not because of the media, but because of their magnanimous personality, their largess, or their care for others. The media should be treated as a checkpoint that filters out the unscrupulous individuals who are looking for personal gain when conducting philanthropic acts. Even if the media ruthlessly tried to spread acrimony about a person, the society can always distinguish between an honest generosity and a dishonest deceit.

While media scrutiny is a blessing, it can also serve against its purpose. For example, if a certain company, or government had monopoly over the media industry in a country, then it can manipulate the general view of the society towards an individual, not due to lack of merit of that individual, but due to having an interest in doing so. While this issue is certainly possible, it is a result of lack of competition, not the concept of having an investigative media itself.

Overall, media scrutiny is a blessing for a healthy society. Without it, fake heroes can easily deceive the citizens for their personal gains, and the resulting venality can subsume the real heroes as well.