Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts. Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Citizens are worth of a nation. They are building blocks of a country and in making any decision their welfare should be kept in mind and of utmost importance. This is a hot topic of debate among people from all walks of life whether big policy decisions should be made by government officers solely or general public should be involved or not. I believe that common people should be involved in making important decisions as they are the one which will get affected the most.

First and foremost, politicians and government officers are given authority and responsibility towards people of a nation. Politicians may decide to construct a flyover in order to solve the problem of traffic congestion in an area. But this flyover will be build by making several people homeless and jobless as the buildings will be demolished in the area of construction of the flyover. Maybe this problem can be solved by diverting the traffic to other area. Moreover, maybe the city reluctantly needs a school rather than a flyover which will be a very costly project. All these requirements can be stated by a general public representative to government. As a representative will be more aware about issues faced by common people. Member of general public can act as an effective link between government and general public.

Besides this, the political and government officers cannot discuss all problems with public. As there are certain issues which needs privacy and other's can cause panic among people. For example, situations such as war or emergencies cannot be discussed in public. These decisions are made by government and public have to keep faith on their decisions. As they are the one who are supposed to work for the welfare of the people. However, wherever it is possible, government should discuss with general public regarding policies.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate my point that it is better to have transparency between government and common public. Both of them cannot work alone. They are two sides of a coin.So, working together will bring progress and development of a nation.