Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I agree with the claim to the extent of the word “always.” There are different circumstances in which the general public should be more, or less, involved in the decision making.

The public is more involved in the policy and will be more affected by the decision than the government. Some policies focus on helping the higher income part of the population have a negative effect on the moderate to low income populations. In this case, the government would not have a better perspective because they would be in the population that is benefitting, so the people should be more involved here.

Yes, the government is more informed and sometimes they do not inform the public as a matter of safety and to keep the people calm. In this situation, the people should be less involved if their knowledge will cause an outbreak in violence or anything else that may hinder the safety of the public. But on the other hand, the people have the right to be informed, so the reason given for the claim is not justified.

In conclusion, major policy decisions should not always be left to the politicians and government. The government should not always be making the decisions because they would have too much control. The people should be properly informed and able to be involved in the decisions that are being made.