Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Just because politicians and other government experts are more informed and might have better judgement and perspective than do members of the general public they cannot be granted the right to take major policy decisions all by themselves. For several reasons stated below one can say that a combination that considers details from both the consensus and the government officials' perspectives should serve as the solution for forming major policies.

Firstly, we shall not assume that the government officials and leaders would have the requisite honesty to form important policies. If by any means a policy can favour/harm those in administration, the administrators might be inclined to tweak it for personal benefits. Such scenarios are well obscured but a reality in most of the governments. For instance, the Lokpal bill in India, which if passed, would grant rights to Central Bureau of Investigation to arrest and prosecute any politician/government official, is still pending in the process from decades just because few corrupt senior politicians are afraid of its impact.

Moreover, in democracies where the rulers are not inclined towards corruption other problems like the discern of the officials on size/amount of impact can circumscribe the acceptance and benefits of any policy. One such example is the recent demonetisation imposed over Indian currency. The short comings of the policy resulted in hundreds of elderly dying in enormous queues to exchange their old legal tenders for new ones.

Furthermore, the impact of any major policy might be different in officials' and general public's perspectives. Officials mostly have to make their decisions based on facts and figures, which might differ from general public expectations. The repercussions of major policy changes might differ from what everyone had expected unless it has considered points from all constituents of the public. Take for instance the changes in immigration policies in United States. The governments perspective is that these changes will help eradicate illicit and notorious immigrants from the country, but the ingenuous students and international workers are also afraid of getting deported for no viable reason.

On the other hand, involvement of leader and administrator in policy changes is vital for anticipated success. Without their wisdom one might make decisions that are aberrant from ideological politics. Consensuses might want things to be done deviated from what is standard. For example punishments for rapists. General public always suggests exemplary sentences for the convicts, but one has to keep in mind the human rights and many other laws that suggest to show kindness to the human behind the crime.

Conclusively, the involvement of both the parts of democracy in forming important policies, the ruling and the ruled is beneficial for the expected growth and success of any liberal country.