Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Law, in simple and layman terms, can be defined as a set of rules and regulations which a responsible citizen should abide by, in order to maintain social dignity. Unquestionably there can be situations where law fails to adjudicate the victim or even the assailant. Morality comes into play in such situations. A law takes into consideration several use cases that happen within the society. But such use cases are myriad and consideration of all possible cases is not feasible for any human being and even for the committee that are responsible for writing laws. Depending on the severity of the situation, desperate measures are taken, not only by the security personnel but also by the law-makers. This can be bolstered by considering several instances in the history of mankind.

The world is aware of the Taj Mumbai attack of 26/11/2009, where only four Taliban terrorists capitulated one of India's most secured and landmark hotel and massacred more than two hundred innocent citizens which included foreigners as well. They also managed to murder more than forty security personnel of policemen and National Security Guards. After a three days of non-stop gun fight and bloodshed, finally the terrorists were captured by the National Security Guards. As per Indian Law, any terrorist should be terminated within twenty four hours of his/her capture. But the 26/11 terrorists were kept in jail for a long six years in the name of interrogation. People who lost their relatives or friends or family in 26/11 filed a case against the national defense forces, demanding immediate hanging of the terrorists. In this scenario, the court turned in favor of the defense forces, while hurting the emotions of the common people.

In another scenario in the capital of India, New Delhi, a 22-year girl was captured by four men at midnight, and was raped and murdered brutally. This was one of the most shocking and heart-breaking news in the history of Indian journalism. The victim's acquittance was also beaten up by the four attackers. Delhi police was quick and efficient enough to take the four into custody, but kept in jail for over eight years. The victim's parents and the entire nation demanded an immediate encounter or hanging of the attackers, but there were no repercussions from the Delhi High Court or even the Supreme Court of India.

In a recent scenario, a so-called lower caste girl was raped and murdered similarly by the members of the so-called upper-caste, in Uttar Pradesh, India. This also caught nation-wide attention of both media and public. Common people demanded immediate detention of the attackers, but the state police chose to remain silent and the decision came in favor of the upper-caste attackers. Clearly, dissoluteness of the police and law-makers turned the law against the common people.

On the contrary, in another recent event in the city of Hyderabad, India, where a 30-year old woman was captured, raped and burnt alive by five goons, the senior police official captured the attackers and killed them in an encounter. The policeman received accolades and appreciation from all over the country, but had to face severe enquiries from the law-makers. Fortunately, the countrymen were in support of the encounter and the law-makers did not have any other option than to vindicate him.

Without a doubt, it can be concluded that the shortcomings of the law and law-makers, are always taken advantage of. While common people are emotional and require immediate judgments on critical scenarios, the law takes years to pass a judgement be it in favor of the victims or against them. In several scenarios, these shortcoming and loopholes of the law are used against the innocents, and they suffer from loss of identity. Hence, many of today's challenges are not solvable by the law.