Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It’s been passed on to us by our ancestors, that once we understand that each of us have come to this word with a purpose and it is our duty to identify it and work for it passionately. For us to do this, it is important for us to let go of the concept of ‘I’ and adopt and advocate for the idea of ‘WE’. Since we all belong to one gigantic community and for us to sustain as an individual, we got to thrive as a whole.

The claim here made by author quotes that, no act is done solely for the benefit of others and the reason is, that all acts even those seemed to be done for other people, is driven by a self-interest.While it is true that even when man is performing a good deed purely for the purpose of making a positive difference in others lives, there is a sense of satisfaction and happiness attached to it. This of course helps in boosting their own well being by creating an aura of positive vibes around them, thereby increasing their motivation and productivity in getting their tasks completed.

Warren Buffet once known to be the richest man of the world, is known to have donated more than half of his wealth to charity. Even though this act of his, no doubt would have made him jubilant, the main point is the rarity of this kind of attitude. In today’s world which is so cynical, to see people take a genuine concern into world problems and make their fair share of effort to overcome them, is a panegyric act. Business tycoons who have launched their products in the market which went on to be used by millions of people in their day to day life. This initially started off with a clear vision of what they wanted to create, continued by their perseverance to bring it to life. Here many a times their initial intent is of passion to create something they aspire for, once they are successful they create a suitable application of it in easing a certain task in the consumers life which required arduous effort before. This is the strategy followed by most of the products we know today, like of Microsoft, which was the outcome of Bill Gates intense passion for coding and then creating a product like Microsoft Office which is used literally used by every IT, Corporate and any other sector you name it, they use it. Similarly people who decide to dedicate their life to church be it in the position of Father, Priest or Sister do it because of their ardent faith in Jesus Christ. Recently a mother decided to become a surrogate for her daughter, to go through the pain of labor at such an old age is purely out of her unconditional love for her daughter.

No doubt any act done, has a motive behind it whether it done for one’s self benefit or for others. Until the intent of serving others thrives among us, that’s all that matters in making this world a better place for us and our progeny.