Claim: Restaurant should be required to display nutritional information about the food they serve.

Reason: This knowledge will help diners make healthy choices and reduce their risk of diet-related health problems.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author of the claim above argues that nutritional information about the food served must be displayed by restaurants in order to help clients both to choose healthy dishes and to avoid food which are cause of allergies. As far as I am concerned, I tend to totally agree with his opinion and with the evidence he has provided.

Nowadays, more and more people care about the fitness of their body and, thus, they follow a very strict diet. For many of them going out for lunch or dinner is always a hidden problem. They usually become embarrassed as they have to choose a dish from a menu which do not provide the exact ingredients and nutrition facts of what they are going to eat. For this reason, the suggestion made by the author is well-reasoned and it would substantially improve the confidence of these people while eating outside home. Moreover, not only it would give advantages to the clients, but also it would boost restaurants’ economy since more people would be encouraged to eat outside.

Furthermore, many people are affected by diet-related health problem and eating at the restaurant sometimes could be very dangerous for many of them. This situation is caused by the unclear declaration of ingredients made by restaurants that usually provide uncomplete information at the moment of the order and then, when sometime bad happen, they reject what they have said in order to avoid any blame. The policy proposed would force restaurants to give detailed and correct information about the ingredients of every dished and, as a consequence, would protect clients from having terrible allergic crisis.

On the other side of the argument it may be argued that the application of this policy would be expensive and time-consuming for all that concerns the certifications that must be obtained. However, it would be for sure a worthy investment as many people would be encouraged to eat at the restaurants providing a higher income at the companies.

In conclusion, I am strongly convinced that all restaurants must be forced to openly provide clients with the ingredients of the dishes they are serving in order to both offer a high-quality service to all of them and to boost their own firm’s business.