Claim: Restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the food they serve

Reason: This knowledge will help diners make healthy choices and reduce their risk of diet

related health problems

Would displaying nutritional information about food served in restaurants help tailor diners healthy choices? Some will argue that such information will help diners choose wisely considering their risk of developing diet related problems. However, others would argue that diners can make right decisions on what diet will benefit them without the nutritional information being displayed. After, weighing the evidence, it is certain that nutritional information makes for better diet decision and result in limited health problems compared to when they are not displayed.

Now consider how nutritional information would help diners. A peptic Ulcer patient will greatly appreciate the nutritional information a restaurant displays, since it will help him chose food that would not aggravate the ulcer. Ulcer patients usually avoid foods that a pepperi and very salty. In addition, such patients also avoid food that are hard. If ever, they eat this kind of food without prior information, they could breakdown and would be needing medical attention. This would result in loss of productive hours. Therefore, displaying the nutritional information of diet will greatly help diners choice considering their health status.

Like a peptic Ulcer patient, people who have had history of diabetes in their lineage would also cherish a restaurant that displays of nutritional information. People from such families have the tendencies to develop Diabetes. This disease is chronic and no cure has being found for it till date. Hence, family member who have not developed the disease would begin to discipline themselves to eat certain foods that will keep them healthy. In this case, foods that are high in sugar would be avoided. Thus, displaying information on the nutritional components of diets will advice such people to make proper diet and health decision.

Some would argue that people already know the type of foods the need, like people trying to reduce their weigh. However, it is important to note that mistakes could still occur even if person knows exactly what type of food they require. Besides, nutritional information display would still aid decision making in this regards.

In conclusion, it is clear that displaying nutritional information helps diners make better decisions on diets that will benefit their health as compared to when the information is not displayed. Ulcer patients and people who are trying to avoid developing cancer will greatly appreciate such information. In all cases, displaying the nutritional information will benefit everyone including those who already know exactly what they want in a meal.