Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

What is meant by a great nation? Is a great nation one in which people burgeon or is it one in which science achieves new heights with every passing day? Is greatness of a nation characterized by the artistic contribution to the world or by the huge army it possesses? Surely, a nation will be great when it is amalgam of all above factors in balanced amount. For instance, a nation like North Korea which is fixated on development of science in field of weapons can be considered great by belligerent people, but will be considered as failed nation due to poor quality of life of common people.

Many people argue that if the people of a country are happy, then the nation in itself is great. But there are various factors involved in deliberating over the welfare of people. For instance, in a war-torn country like Syria, welfare of people will lie in expansion of military by making advances in explosives and obliterating the terror group. For this, Syria has to produce labs, special equipments in order to make people safe, and thus ensure welfare of people. Therefore, the achievements in sciences is intertwined with the welfare of people and cannot be separated.

There are factions of people which consider China a great nation because of the immense market share it owns and domination over manufacturing business. Because of this industrial boom, China has been able to make advances in science and kept with the pace of everchanging industry and market demands. Therefore, China has succeeded in protecting its superiority. But the question is: does China treat its citizens well enough? It is a blatant truth that there are many restrictions on the people imposed by government. Recently, using their brute force, China silenced people protesting against rules of Mainland China being imposed on Hong Kong. Many videos demonstrating brutal attack on its own people, signifies the lack of freedom of speech in China, thereby making it rather unsafe to live. With this outlook, it cannot be said that China is a great nation. Therefore, the definition of greatness varies from one section of people to another, depending on their own biases.

United States is an ideal example of a great nation as percieved by many. It is the dreamland of many people because of the great opportunities it provides regardless of the ethnicity of immigrants. United States not only abides by the policy of welfare of people, but also is the leading country in terms of research. United States boasts of nearly 20 universities in top 50 universities in world. United States also produced some of the best rulers like Abraham Lincoln known for their intelligence and efficacy. Despite all these achievements, there was a massive surge of dissatisfaction among people because of rising unemployment issues which arose due to myriad of more skilled immigrants. It is because of this discontenment, Donald Trump’s “Make America Great Again” worked like charm and helped him become the President of US. Therefore, no matter how much advances a country makes in all sectors, it will always lag behind in some factors.

Greatness of nation cannot be measured with surity based on only one factor. It has to be scaled over various perspectives and then assessed with an indifferent view. Definition of greatness various based on the circumstances a nation survives in. Therefore, a holistic view should be taken into account before reaching a conclusion on the greatness of any nation.