Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

What defines a great nation? This is a contentious issue and different people will have different opinion. Some suggest that the indicator of a great nation is the welfare of its entire people, while some believe that it is the achievements of rulers, artists or scientists that make a nation great. I opine the former viewpoint.

The achievement of great people cannot indicate the success of a nation, because they are just the elite of the country and therefore do not represent the whole nation. We know that politicians, artists and scientists are the rarely gifted genius. Their contribution, no matter how great, is iota compared to the contribution made by the working classes of the country. A country’s future is shaped by the overall achievement of its citizens and not a few geniuses. A country which cannot provide basic needs to satisfy its citizens is not a great country. The most outstanding example is Russia. Russia was blossomed with many great scientist like Shakarov, Landau and Zeldovich. However Russians, except a few, are living in the state of poverty, because of Marxism, Russians are ripped off of their fundamental right of speech, and all are living in the fear of KGB. Can we call this sort of a nation “great” just because it possesses awesome power in science?

Some may note the the achievements of great nation’s rulers, artists and scientists are greater, compared to the achievements of the same in the third world countries. They thus conclude that we should measure the greatness of a nation in terms of achievements of individuals, not the general welfare of its people. They have confused the cause and effect. The reason great nations such as US nourishes outstanding people is because the general welfare of its people is well taken care off. Arts and Science are activities that require great deal of effort and funds , without proper financial support from the public and the government , these activities are not continued. The fact that arts and science receive much public support in the west is because, the countries are already developed and can afford to allocate sum of funds for these fields. However, in developing countries, government needs to improve the standard of living, and hence cannot allocate extra funds for scientific investigations.

From the history of the world , we know that the achievements of politicians' cannot be an indicator for a nations greatness. For instance, China has had its fare share of great rulers, but their history is full of numerous sad episodes. If a country’s greatness is dependent on its ruler, then the country cannot be considered as ‘great’, because the rulers will keep changing. George Washington was a good president, but that doesn’t guarantee the legacy of America. What makes America powerful and what makes US admirable is it’s political system. The founding father’s of US were visionary heroes who designed the system so that the country’s prosperity does not depend on geniuses'. Without a good president, other parts of the democratic system can still function well and thus ensuring a smooth run.

To sum up, I believe that the success of a ntion should not be measured in terms of achievement of its elites. The welfare of its people should determine the greatness of a country. We should be proud of a country by looking at the way it treats its citizens and not because of a few handful geniuses' that it gives birth to.