Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

The claim expresses that studying history, although it might seem to be objective, relies on creativity. The reasoning behind this claim is that because history can not be studied directly, observers must interpret evidence by using their imaginationn power. I agree with the claim to the extent that learning about historical events requires a good deal of imagination. However, the reason, provided for the claim in the topic, is not very precise and there are some drawbacks in its' argument.

Whether learning about the historical past requires creativity or not, depends on the role of the person who wants to study history. This means that, as a historian, one has to be imaginative to study history, however, as an ordinary person who wants to learn about historical events by reading about them in history books, there is no need for creativity.

Historical events, especially distant ones, are sometimes not well-documented in reliable written sources. In some cases, astute historians have done the hard work by gathering evidence, documenting them, analyzing their validity, and presenting them to the reader. As a result, one who wants to learn about the past historiical events has an easy job by reading the written works of these historians. However, in some other cases, there is a dire shortage of reliable written works to learn about history. Therefore, the person who wants to find out about a particular event is forced to act as a historian, and this task surely requires creativity.

Studying distant and destroyed dynasties is one of the tasks that rely heavily on using creativity. One example is studying the remains of Perspolis, the capital of the Archemedian dynasty, located in south areas of Iran. Although these remains have been on the sight of people, for more than 2000 years, no one, even the locals, was aware that they are the remains of Perspolis which was set on fire by Alexander. It was merely two hundred years ago that a British historian came to analyze those remains, and by interpreting the findings and corroborating them with the records of Greek historians, he found out that those remains actually represents the legendary capital of one of the greatest empires ever ruled on earth.

In conclusion, when a person who wants to study history as a detective and historian, creativity serves as one of his most valuable assets. However, for someone who is simply interested in learning about historical events, reading the documented evidence serves the perspose and there seems to be no need for using imagination.