“Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.”

The author’s posit that the universities should encourage students to take variety of courses outside his or her major field of study seems plausible. I cannot more agree with the author that it is the best way to truly educate students. It also certainly help in improving their critique thinking by exposing them to different theroies and posits from different academic disciplines.

The main advantage of taking course which is outside the student’s major field of study is, it will help students in understanding their penchant towards the research or thesis they want to persue in future. As aforementioned, I am very eligible here to express my personal example which helped me a lot in undersatnding my major interest. I am a biotechnology student, but i never was ardent about it. Our university, NIT Warangal, have this rule where we have to choose courses outside our major field of study. This approach really helped me in exploring my true propriety towards the field of study i want persue in future.

Moreover, the author’s reasoning that acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to truly educated students is rational. By doing so, it will help students to aquire knowledge not only from their field, but also from different fields, and also he or she can mix and the postulates from two fields and can get something interesting and plumbing results. Nowadays, many universities encourages students to take courses from different filed of study. For example, a research was conducted in the MIT, which focused on determing motion of the universe and the premises they used in determing the motion is quite interesting. They used the postulates from the economics and applied it in the astrophysics to determine the universe motion. Isn’t that great !

In conslusion, acquiring knowledge from various academic deciplines is the best way to truly educate a student. Every academic disciplines has something new to offer, we can really utilise the their posits and understanding in our academic deciplines, and can create something extraordinary.