Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is true that when one interacts with a person who holds contradictory views, it can cause stress not only due to the involuntery response of the human psychology but also due to the attitude that one holds towards the person. This eventually will lead to conflict between the opinions and thus, prevent any learning. However, in such situations, if one takes a step back and cogitate on the other's point of view, one can suprisingly learn new things. I personally feel that, though at first instance, diagreement can cause stress, eventually one can learn more from such instances than one would learn in a congrous conversation.

Firstly, every human being is unique in his/her own way. Thus, every person can look or disect a situation in their own perspective. While some of them have a similar opinion, others can have completely different opinion and everyone will be of the opinion that they are flawless. Whenever one has a conversation with a like minded person, they easily get along appreciating each other's intellectaul capability. But the problem arises when one encouters a person with opposing views. The first thing that they face is stress due to diagreement which eventually inhibits learning. If the counterparts are able to inhibit their stress and continue to discuss about their point of views, it can lead to a more prodictive and more fecund learning for both of them. It is these encounters that encourages the people to broaden their mind and contemplate about an issue in multiple directions rather than thinking about the issue unilaterally. This broadened view acts as a catalyst to arrive at the best solution that would benefit the beneficiary in an unprecedented way. Thus, disagreement encourages analytical thinking which contribute to learning more than one would learn in a congruous conversation.

Secondly, if we look at the history of mankind, it is evident that the people with heretical views are the ones that push the human race forward. One need not go farther than their school books to ascertain this point. We have read many stories where people with opposing views were banished from the society even though they were scientifically and analytically correct. For instance, when someone told to a King and his people that the earth is round, the person was mocked at mercilessly and was desolated from the society. However, time had proven them right and the technological advancements would not have been possible if we hadn't embraced such raidcal ideas. Another such example was about the center of our solar system. While to common man, the earth seemed to be located at the center of the universe, there was one maverick that proclaimed that the Sun was at the center of the Solar System and the earch rotates around the Sun. Even though that person was considered as nondescritp at first due to disagreement with the larger folklore, apparently, that person was correct and now, there is a whole new space exploration programs that are built based on that idea. Hence, it is apparent that one can in fact learn a lot from the people holding opposing views.

There migh be an exception, in the realms of our discussion, that cannot be overlooked. If the person holding contradictory views is dogged to not relent his opinion even when the evidence states otherwise, then it would actually contribute to inhibit learning. Such encounters not only sap energy and cause frustration but also prohbit the progress.

Therefore, people with opposing views can actually learn more from each other than those having the same views as such encounters can foster analytical thinking and act as a catalyst for the development of the mankind.