Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Knowledge is everywhere, you just need the curiosity and willpower to acquire it. The prompt claims that, we can learn much more from the people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own views. According to the prompt, the reason given to bolster their claim is that if the views of the people do not match, then it may lead to disagreement, which will further cause stress and inhibit learning. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this assesment for the following two reasons.

To begin, If we gather knowledge only from those people whose views are in tandem with our outlook, then there is a chance that many important viewpoints are overlooked. The process of knowledge gathering is not only collecting and remembering facts, but also to listen and interpret different viewpoints about a certain issue. If we are adamant to overlook any argument that feels like a contradiction to our views, then it is not the right approach to learning. Consider a hypothetical scenario in which an individual learns only from the person who shares their views. It might happen that their views become more and more polarized and dogmatic and as there was no person to contradict, they could not find out where they went wrong. Thus, I believe that it is better to learn from a person who has a holistic approach towards learning and considers all angles and views on a matter.

Moreover, not allowing contradiction just to avoid a disagreement further exacerbates the problem. There has to be a debate, a difference of opinion or a cross argument to make any kind of learning complete. In my opinion, in some cases disagreement can be a healthy form of knowledge transfer. When two individuals disagree over a matter, they exchange contrasting ideas which may further ameliorate their learning experience. In fact, some of the most important decisions are taken after extensive debate in which all opinions are heard. After hearing variety of views, there is a realization of the vastness of the problem at hand. Hence, disagreement should not be looked at as a cause of stress, but should be considered as an opportunity for learning.

But, I also believe that in some cases, it may be acceptable to learn only from those having a shared viewpoint, so that unnecessary stress is avoided. Thus, in conclusion, it can be said that, the method of learning depends on the scenario in which the process is happening, but for the better part of the spectrum, it is essential to learn from people with contradictory views.