The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo suggests that the decision of XYZ to use Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany Firm is a mistake. It provided arguments to prove that Delany Personnel Firm is a better firm than Walsh and the sole reason to use Walsh Personnel Firm is the monetary benefits as Walsh is a cheaper alternative. The memo is plagued with unwarranted assumptions that need to be highlighted. Hence, before this proposal is accepted, the following three questions must be answered.

To begin, Is Delany Personnel Firm the sole reason for the laid of employees to get jobs quickly? It might be the case that, these people have obtained jobs on the basis of their own intellect and talent rather than due to the assistance provided by the Delany Firm. The laid-off employees, worried about their future may have upskilled themselves in order to make themselves more employable.

Moreover, the writer is making the assumption that the market conditions have remained the same in the last eight years. For example, when XYZ was using Walsh Personnel Firm eight years ago, it may have been the case that the country was suffering from an economic recession. So, the laid-off employees required more time to get another employment opportunity. The author has to realize that the assumption that the economic conditions fluctuate every now and then and that the job market is a capricious in nature.

Furthermore, having a ‘bigger staff’ and ‘large number of offices’ does not guarantee superiority. The writer has made an assumption on the basis of these facts that Delany Firm is better than Walsh Firm. But, it might not be the case. Delany, having a ‘bigger staff’ might be catering to a lot of different companies in their post lay-off process. Thus, it might not be prudent to give the contract to Delany just on the basis of greater staff members, as the company XYZ might not receive personalized assistance from Delany Firm as they are busy with other firms. They should also realize that, ‘all that glitters is not gold’. One should consider the overall financial health of any company before giving a contract.

In conclusion, the current state of the argument is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unjustified assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three aforementioned questions and provide concrete evidence, perhaps in the form of a comprehensive research study, then the viability of the proposal to use the services of Walsh Personnel Firm over the existing Delany Personnel Firm can be fully evaluated.