The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument was appeared in a memo of XYZ company. The argument argues that Delany Personnel Firm is superior than Walsh Personnel Firm. The author mentions that those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. He mentions last year’s data and scenario of before eight year. Although the evidences presented in the argument is true, he is too quick to assume that Delany firm is superior by seeing the past results; he failed to analyze the specific details about present scenarios and future aspect so the conclusion presented in the argument is dubious. The specific evidences which are needed to evaluate the argument are presented in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the author assumes that Delany Personal Firm always do better to assist the job seekers. This assumption is too general because he failed to analyze the specific details about the future scenario and market. So the conclusion presented in the argument is dubious. For example, while the result of Delany firm’s result was good in the past, there may be improved environment of Walsh. So before arguing, the author need to analyze the new environment, new policy and strategy of another firm as well.

In addition, The author need to analyze the number of jobs available in the market before to come into the conclusion. He assumes that number of job available will be high so that the employee will get job who used the Delany firm for assistance. This assumption is groundless because he failed to analyze the thorough research of job aspects in future. So the conclusion made with out the thorough study is questionable. For example, the number of job recommended by the Delany would decrease in the near future and the job recommended by Walsh would increase; so before making the conclusion author needs to foresee the future scenario.

Furthermore, the author must analyze the actual time taken to get job by job seekers who take assistance from Delany Personal Firm. He assumes that average time is enough to be superior. However, this assumption is unwarranted because he fails to analyze the details data about the time taken to get job. So the conclusion based on this assumption is questionable. For instance, some might get job in two or three years which is very late. Author needs to analyze the detail data analysis before making the conclusion.

In conclusion, the evidences which are presented above is needed to evaluate the argument. If the mentioned evidences is analyzed in the process of evaluation of argument the argument will be strong else the argument will be invalid.