When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

The argument states that following the layoff, the former employees should take assistance from firms such as Delany personnel Firm or Wash Personnel Firm in helping them to find new jobs. The company provides a myriad of reasons on why one should choose the Delany Personnel Firm over the Wash Personnel Firm in an attempt to subtly promote it, which it might have partnered with.

Upon superficial glance it might seem as though XYZ company has proposed this initiative of referring to a professional firm in the best interest of the people however, on careful examination it becomes convincing that this might be a business strategy to make a sustainable amount of profit while referring clients to these firms and also conceal the gravity of the situation of laying off several of its employees behind, providing alternatives to them.

The memo cites that the Delany Personnel Firm offers basic services such as offering assistance in creating resumes and developing interview skills to unemployed people at such high rates and claims to have offered jobs to its clients in an average of six months. These claims are fabricated to sound advantageous but have various loopholes which makes it fallacious. For instance, for the large sum of money that the firm is charging ,mere services such as creating resumes seem a bit more lucrative to the company than those recently unemployed. It could be that all of the money would be going to pay the large staff it employs and the great deal of branches they own. It seems extremely iniquitous to be charging these frivolous rates to unemployed individuals. Also, the argument claims of being able to find a job on an average of six months which sounds ironic for the amount of time it takes to find a job despite the sum paid to the firm.

It seems as though under the façade of stating statistics of the time it takes to find a job under the Wash Personnel Firm, is an alternative strategy to promote Delany firm due to the amount of money they charge in comparison with Wash firm which might prove to be of benefit to XYZ company on a commission basis. These are some assumptions made without any solid ground.

In conclusion, the kind of words that the memo states such as, ‘Delany is clearly superior’ ,’this would be a mistake’, prove that the company takes a clear stand and is cogently biased. The source of the statistics it provides is not well articulated giving even more reasons in becoming doubtful behind the ultimate motive of the company.