the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

I strongly believe that teaching should involve both praising positive actions and reprimanding negative ones. Hence, I disagree with the statement that teaching should involve merely applauding the student.

It is certainly true that the way our parents and teachers have taught us molds us into the individuals we are today. So, it is important for teachers to resort to methods that set a great example for the next generation. We know that as human beings we tend to make mistakes and it is quixotic to always be perfect. How we learn from these mistakes and become better individuals is an essential part of our life. This has to be imbibed from a young age by those who teach us . Being able to handle constructive criticism and learning to implement it makes us better individuals. It is important to laud positive actions however, ignoring the negative actions can cause more harm than do good. In the sense that, incase of children, they grow up to become overconfident and headstrong as, they feel that they can do no wrong.

There is also a polarizing view that extreme criticism without praising good actions can lead to serious issues as an adult. The person might not have any self confidence, develop anxiety, slip into depression and feel onerous to their loved ones cause they manifest the idea that they are worthless. In order to avoid these extremes, it is extremely crucial that there must be a balance of approbation wherever necessary and condemning negative actions when required to do so.

The main instance I can quote through personal experience is my parents and teachers pointed out the mistakes I made as a child regarding propriety and my studies that has shaped me into the individual that I am today. Without the opprobrium that I received from my well wishers, I would not have understood the prominence of knowing the difference between what is right and what is wrong.