In surveys, Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. The use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The argument is based on the survey. In the list of favorite recreational facilities, the residents of Mason City residents rank water sports like swimming, boating, fishing, etc. To date, Mason City is not used for sports and the city park department doesn’t devote much budget. Due to the complaints from the residents, the state announced the plans to clean up Mason River. Based on this evidence the author argued that the sports in the river will surely increase and also recommends that the city government should devote more money. Although the state announced plans to clean the river, the author is too quick to assume that recreational facilities will increase in the river; they failed to analyze the specific details of the plans, complaints, and residents’ choice of the river to confirm that the use of the river will surely increase for recreational facilities and to recommend that Park city government should allocate more budget.

The author assumed that residents ranked the water sports focusing on Mason River. This assumption, however, is unwarranted because he fails to analyze whether the Mason River is the choice of residents or not and the evidence that came from the incomplete analysis is incomplete so the argument is dubious. For instance, the residents may rank the water sports in another river; they may go out with family in another place. The author should read the survey more carefully before giving a conclusion and recommendation. The assumption made by the author is unwarranted so the argument is not valid.

Similarly, the author implied that complaints from the residents are for sports. But this assumption is too general because he failed to think that whether the residents complain for water sports or for heal causes. The evidence that came from the incomplete analysis is not absolute so the argument made by argument and recommendation is questionable. For instance, residents may complain because of health issues caused by the river’s dirt. The assumption made by the author is unwarranted so the argument is invalid.

In addition, they assumed that the complaint that came from residents is valid and 100% sure but this assumption is not concrete to conclude and recommend. Complaints may be from a specific group. They should not assume the complaints from the residents is reliable data. If the assumption is unwarranted the conclusion made by them is invalid.

Due to the unwarranted assumptions mentioned above, the validity of the given argument is questionable.