The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

History gives us the persprective on life, that worrying about the future cannot provide. The prompt recommends that studying history dispels the illusion that people living now are significantly different from the people who lived in earlier times.It can be inferred that the lives of people in the present age is comparable to the life of people a few centuries back. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this assertion for the following two reasons.

To begin, although the human race as undergone several changes during the course of history, the psycological aspect has remained more or less the same. Even today, the basic necessities of mankind, food, clothing and shelter remain the same. During the height of the Roman empire, common people used to set out, everday to perform their respective jobs in order to earn these basic necessities for their families. Same is the case today. But instead of going to work in a field, we work in skyscrapers and and glass buildings. But the motive remains the same.

Furthermore, the main purpose of studying history is the learn from our mistakes and not repeat them again. But as is evident from history itself (ironically), that is not the case. Humans have been fighting wars since times unknown and even continue to do so today. At the end of World War two, there was a concensus among the general population that war bring nothing but misery and pain for the common people, just to satisfy the interests of a few people in power. Decisions were made, treaties were signed to avoid any further wars. But, reality is always dissapointing. Just under half a century of two devastating wars, we have learned nothing from history and continue to fight wars on multiple fronts.

Of course, some people argue that there has been a significant change in the attitude and outlook for the future, between say a man in the 1940s and a man today. No doubt that there has been technological advancement and it will be written in history books as an amazing achievement for the next generations to read, but they should also consider the fact that the mentality of the people has seldom changed thought the course of history.