The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memo, the author recommends that the company, Dura-Sock should discontinue their use of the Endure manufacturing process to increase profits. The reason given to support this claim is that the customers in Dura-Socks largest market value Dura-Sock’s stylish appearance and availability in many colors over their durability. But, before this recommendation is accepted, the following three questions must be answered.

To begin, is the evidence from the ‘recent study’ credible enough? The author does not mention the number of customers surveyed or what was the ratio of those who valued durability over those who valued appearance. It may be the case that for some customers, durability is more important and stylish appearance is just a secondary benefit. Also, it is mentioned that an average customer purchases new Dura-Socks every three months, but this does not mean that they are discarding the socks they purchases earlier. It might be the case that the requirement for socks is greater due to some other factors like cold weather.

Furthermore, the author has assumed that the choices of the customers from northeastern United States cities will be universal across the entire market where Dura-Socks are available. It might be the case that in some other region, the focus of the customers might not be towards stylish appearance but towards the durability and comfort of the socks. The writer’s generalization of choices of customers across all regions based on a single region may lead to misinterpretation of customer satisfaction.

Lastly, will discontinuation of the Endure manufacturing process directly result in increase in profits? Assuming that the process is discontinued, it would have to be replaced by some other process. The writer assumes that the difference in cost of both the process will be profound. Also, reducing the durability just for profits may result in decline of the loyal customer base who had valued the sock’s durability feature and this may cause a further reduction in revenue for the company.

Moreover, there is no mention of the competitors of Dura-sock who might be having an eclectic variety of socks. In that case, the durability due to the Endure manufacturing process might have been the differentiating factor, which had led to the success of Dura-sock. The author assumes that after the Endure manufacturing process is discontinued, there will be no effect on the demand of the socks. Hence, further evidence is necessary in this matter.

In conclusion, the current state of the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the aforementioned questions and is able to provide concrete evidence, perhaps in the form of a comprehensive research study, then the viability of the recommendation to discontinue Endure manufacturing process can be fully evaluated.