The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo from the vice president of Dura-Sock understates the importance of the Endure manufacturing process, a process for ensuring the durability of the socks manufactured by the company. It then states the reasons behind it as the average customers buying socks much before the expected time, which is every three months instead of two years. It then states that according to surveys, people value its stylish appearance and availability in many colors. Based on these observations, the memo moves forward to conclude that in order to increase the profits, Endure should be discontinued. However, the memo relies on numerous assumptions, some stated and otherwise unstated, to arrive to the conclusion thereby making it untenable if the assumptions prove to be unwarrented.

The memo starts by stating about its Endure manufacturing process. According to a study, the average customer buys socks every 3 months, even though the there is a 2 year durability ensured. However, the credibility of the sources through which this study was done remains unjustified because studies that are generally done do not tend to represent the actual reality. Also, there is not a single reason to buy new socks. Customers do not buy new pairs of socks only when the previous one get damaged. Hence, to assume that the Endure manufacturing process causes Dura-Sock to be profligate based on these assumptions is not a great idea.

Further, the memo states about another survey that was done in the northeastern United States which is the largest market of Dura-Sock. Again the credibility of survey is doubtful. The results suggest that people value the stylish appearance and variance in the colors the most. The word most is vague in this context, as it is unclear how much they value the colors and appearance. It may also be possible that the questions asked in the survey make people proclived towards answering about the appearance of the socks rather than durability. Even though, people did not mention about durability, it does not mean that people do not value durability.

Lastly, the memo concludes that profits would increase if Endure process is ceased. This assumption is clearly lacking a firm base. Also, the decision could backfire by increasing the losses of the company. This is because there can be numerous people who value durability. Lack of this durability would directly cut off this customer base from buying Dura-Sock’s products. Also, it is not mentioned how significant the profits would be. Arriving to this conclusion based on the surveys could prove detrimental to the company’s economy.

Summing up all of the above paragraphs, one can say that the memo has made some assumptions based on which the conclusion is drawn. These stated assumptions such as the company is wasting money on Endure process and that the profits will increase if this process is discontinued, and unstated assumptions such as people’s reason to buy socks being low durability and that people don’t value durability, make the memo’s arguments weak. Therefore, one can disagree with the conclusion as the argument would be undefendable if these assumptions turn out to be false.