Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the given prompt, nowadays, the image that is presented to the people has

become more important than the underlying reality of that image. Ranging from advertisements to

social media handles, everyone is trying to make themselves or their content look more attractive than

they actually are. Yet, there are many scenarios where the underlying truth holds a greater importance

than a more appealing image. One can disagree with the prompt as it fails to cover many such broader

scenarios in which the statements might not hold true.

Sometimes, hiding the absolute truth can be detrimental to the society as the appealing image

that has been created may mislead the common people. This can be the case of scientific research,

especially in the case of medical research. When the ultimate results of any research are obtained, the

results should be shared with the people as they are. Trying to create an appealing image about some

results are unpleasant to hear may not solve the issue and rather complicate it further. For example,

when the Covid-19 outbreak occurred, it became necessary to share the actual facts pertaining to the

virus rather than creating an appealing image about it. Any efforts to make those facts more pleasant

to hear would have seriously impacted the society.

Many a times, maintaining the veracity about a fact is beneficial for the society as a whole.

Consider politics in this case. Politicians often try to create an appealing image about themselves and

try to cover up the underlying reality about themselves. This may help them to gain popularity and

votes but it may ultimately mislead the people to choose the wrong leader. In such scenarios, it

becomes a necessity to reveal the facts exactly as they are. If the facts about the current situation of

the country are shared as they are, it helps the citizens to remain rightly informed.

However, there are some scenarios where creating an appealing image has become really

important. For example, product-based companies try hard to make the product look more appealing

than it actually is in order to bolster popularity and thereby increase their sales. By hiring popular

models in advertisements, these companies try to make their products look more appealing. Another

example is the social media platforms. The content creators on the social media platforms such as

Instagram try to make their content look more appealing in order to have a greater outreach and gain

more popularity.

Summing all the points mentioned above, one can disagree with the prompt. The prompt fails

to consider many scenarios in which the reality holds a greater importance than an appealing image

for the same, such as the areas of scientific research and politics. Although appealing images are

beneficial in some cases, it does make the portrayed images more important than the reality.

Therefore, one can disagree with the statement that in the contemporary society, creating an appealing

image is more inportant than the reality behind it.