In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Name: Shrey K. Naik

Topic: Issue Task #124

The given prompt states that it should be required for the leaders of any field, may it be business, politics, education or government, to step down from power after serving for five years. This may sound plausible at a first glance, however, there are certain compelling reasons for disagreeing with the statement. Hence, after considering the scenarios in the following paragraphs, it can be disagreed upon that the leaders should step down after five years.

There are numerous such policies that are expected to have a long-term outcome. The policies of the government, as an example, require a considerable amount of time before their outcomes are visible to the people. For example, the Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi, was elected in 2014 to serve the country. Since then, he has started many programs such as Swachch Bharat (Clean India Mission), and the GST tax policy. These programs initially had no significant outcomes but as time progressed, India became cleaner and the GST policy made life easy for many people. This happened because the policies were allowed to run and not stopped, because Modi was re-elected in 2019. Thus, in order to fulfill long-term goals, a leader has to be in power for a longer period of time.

The prompt states that a leader should step down after 5 years. Even if it were mandatory to serve only a small amount of time, five years is too small to make a change. For instance, in the case of business, a CEO has to first analyze the market, the current situation of the company and make necessary decision in order to shape a company’s future. For example, the CEO of Apple, Tim Cook, after coming into power first did all the market research and devised appropriate strategies to conquer the market. His success would not be so great if he were to serve only for a time of five years.

However, the limit of five years can help a lot to prevent corruption and the misuse of power. It allows a country to remain truly democratic. It is usually seen that corruption gets deeply ingrained in many of the leaders who remain in power for a long period of time. As an example, there are many such countries like China where the person in power has eradicated all of his competitors. This misuse of power can harm the country and its citizens. An example of peaceful transition of power is Nelson Mandela, who himself stepped down after serving his country for five years. This is very important for a democracy.

Summing up all of the above points, it becomes clear that while there are some benefits for imposing a time limit to remain in power such as preventing misuse and corruption, the benefits are not that significant when the serious disadvantages are considered. If this limit were to be imposed, the long-term goals that a leader plans out may suffer a lot and due to the very small limit, that is five years, any organization won’t be able to make a significant amount of progress. Therefore, it can be disagreed upon that leaders should step down after remaining in power for five years.