In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A good leader always takes into consideration the best interests of his/her people. In this power-hungry, dog-eat-dog world, it is rare to find such leaders. Be it business, politics, education or government, the politics of leadership is ever-changing. In case we do happen upon a good leader, it would be a shame to ask them to step down after just one term. Thus, I disagree with the stance in question that those in power should be required to step down after five years for the following three reasons.

To begin, I agree that although it is good to have such a policy as a rule of thumb, it is not a good idea to make it into a law. The reason for this is, it is just not pragmatic. If there is a law that requires the people in top positions to step down every five years, it can cause a lot of problems. If the company cannot afford to find a replacement, it is going to be a problem. As long as the people are happy, we don't want to create a contingent environment everywhere. For instance, Barack Obama was the president for two terms - and he was well-received. It is true that the American government has a four-year term but in this particular case he was allowed to run for another term. Thus, in companies or governments, atleast such flexibilty must be given.

Furthermore, if we take leading businesses and impose the law that their CEO's or CFO's must step down after five years, it is going to be bad for the businesses. As long as the leader is beloved and brings in the desired output, there is no reason to ask them to leave. To elucidate with an example, we take the example of Ms. Knope of the Parks Department of Pawnee. She cared about the people and took her job seriously. She worked extremely hard for many years and brought about many positive changes. If she had been asked to step down after five years, none of that would have been possible. Thus, it is all about the people and democracy. If they want their leader to continue, the leader must be allowed to.

The last reason is that if we allow for such a law to be enforced in businesses or politics, chaos will ensue. The whole organization will be in a state of pandemonium. For example, let us take the company AstX. Their leader was let go because of a similar policy. Since the company could not find a suitable replacement, they elected one of their employees as the CFO on an interim basis. This led to a complete anarchy in the company as he was not very skilled. The company went bankrupt and had to eventually be shut down. Thus, if a replacement cannot be found, it is going to be a very difficult time for the company. This implies that such rules should not be hastily imposed.

One may argue that if we let the same person be the leader for a very long time, it won't be healthy for the organization. The leader might be considered a borderline despot. However, if that turns out to be the case, the people should have the real power to stop him/her. Thus, to reiterate, in any field the leader must not be asked to step down after five years. It all comes down to the organization's policy and the people's opinion.