In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should

be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you

should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how

these consequences shape your position.

History has shown that the success of a country or empire largely comes down to the actions of the people in power, which makes the choice of a country's leadership an absolutely essential and important decision in the hands of its people. The prompt suggests that there should be a change in leadership in all fields after regular periods of time, irrespective of the ability of the incumbent leadership. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the aforementioned statement for two reasons.

It must be noted that an able leader must possess the virtues of sound judgment, exceptional man-management skills and resilience to setbacks among other qualities, which likely diminishes the chance of a capable replacement in times of change of power. Such a leadership vacuum can often cause chaos in the executive circles and throw the organization's future into disarray. History has shown us several instances where the replacement of a strong, benevolent ruler by an incapable descendant resulted in a power struggle and ultimately led to the demise of powerful empires.

However, concentration of control for prolonged periods of time in the hands of a select few makes them susceptible to venality and egregious violations of power, and a proclivity for holding on to it for personal benefits. For instance, many dictators in modern history have been observed to gain absolute control of the country governments through any means necessary, and impose a despotic, totalitarian regime of authority, often enforcing their interests at the expense of the common people.

Moreover, a periodic change in leadership allows for a transition in leadership to newer, younger candidates, who often bring in a broad-minded and well-informed outlook to critical issues and are more willing to adapt to the constant changes prevalent in their fields of concern. For instance, there has been a steady decline in the average age of CEOs at various national and multinational corporations, signifying that the younger breed of executives are quite capable of building and leading profitable organizations and that age might just be a number when it comes to managerial experience.

In a nutshell, the lack of a capable replacement to supplant a well-established, outgoing leader can be calamitous for the organization or country's future prospects. However, the obvious risk of those in power falling into corruption and abuse of power necessitates a regular change of guard for long-term stability. With the right mindset and willingness to lead from the front, a relatively young, inexperienced candidate can overcome the initial hiccups and blossom into a strong-willed, pragmatic leader, ushering in an era of long-term prosperity for his country or organization.