In any field-business, politics, education, government-those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is not uncommon for people to argue that it is better for the leader to step down after 5 years. Proponent of the statement is that it will stimulate more people to be the leader and make contribution. However, it will also impair the effectiveness of a long-time policy as new authority would change another regulation even it is reverse to the previous one. In fact, I approve of the idea for officers to step down after 5 years.

Some will argue that the changing the authority frequently may do harm to the effectiveness of a law passed by the authority. For example, as for some project which needs humorous people and time, such as constructing a railway in order to narrow the distance from the north and south places, the project must takes over 5 years to finish the job. If the leader who proposes this project steps down after 5 years, while the new leader stops it because he or she thinks it is a waste of money. In a consequence, this project will be relinquished, with the effort to build the railway wasting in the end. However, the problem that the new authority may be against with the old one is a instinct issue which cannot be solve as long as changing the new authority.

Although change of the authority may lead to the problem for the new one inconsistent with the previous one, a leader persistently in authority may lead to some problems. For one thing, 5 years is such an enough time for people to observe whether the leader is responsible and competitive to manage a state. If the leader is corrosive to the society, with all of the new laws and regulations fail to the anticipation of citizens. After 5 years, the leader will be replaced by a new one. Another reason is that when leader remains a long time in authority, the younger with revolutionary idea cannot have the political power. In that case, there are full of conventional and old policies in the party without any innovation.

Moreover, the longer time a people in authority, the more he will be entrenched in the party which will probably be the basis of corruption. To image a new leader at the beginning. For the first time, he becomes a leader of a country, he wants to do the best in everything in order to flourish the country. However, as time flying, he becomes familiar with the people in the party and gets bored to do everything by himself. At this time, he will let others who he trusts to do, and accepts the money from the mongers in big company. As he is in authority for a long time, no one dares to criticize him. Such a situation displays how a corruption emerges when a person stays for too long as a leader.

To sum up, though changing the authority may reduce the effectiveness, it cannot be avoided. I agree that the leader should step down.