The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura- Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of marketing at Dura-Stock Inc. contends that the company is wasting money on its patented Endure process, and the company would be able to increase its profits by discontinuing the use of this process. The vice-president claims that the average customer purchases the product every three months, which means that durability is clearly not a factor defining their purchase, thus obviating the need to use the endure process. The vice-president also claims that the result of a survey conducted on the customers in the northeastern United States cities  prefer their stylish appearance and availability of colors. The argument as it stands now is flawed and needs further evidence to better evaluate its cogency.

Firstly, the vice-president assumes that the average customer purchases new socks every three months only because the older ones are not usable any more. Further evidence regarding the reason why the customers buy socks every three months is required. The customers might buy newer socks because they like to wear newer colors. Perhaps the customers prefer buying newer collections, which might be considered more stylish than the older ones. A detailed analysis of the purchase reasons of the customers might show this to be true and severely weaken the argument.

Secondly, the vice-president assumes that the customers in the northeastern United States are a representative sample of their entire customer base. If evidence regarding the preferences of customers across their market is provided, it will help in better evaluating the argument. It might be the case that the customers of northeastern United States cities prefer aesthetics over durability, but this might not be the case for other regions in which this product is sold. Perhaps customers across Europe prefer durability over aesthetics. It is possible that many customers across Asia prefer both durability and aesthetics. Data regarding the likes and dislikes of the customers across different regions will help buttress the evidence and significantly weaken the argument.

Thirdly, the vice-president assumes that discontinuing the endure process will not make the socks last less than three months. Further evidence is required regarding the period of time the socks will last without the endure process factored in during production. It might be the case that the socks might last only a month or even less. Perhaps the endure manufacturing process also lends some aesthetic aspects to the socks, which the customers adore. The minutiae of the process must be explored, and without it, there is a big lacuna in the argument. If a detailed analysis of the process and its effects proves the above-mentioned points to be true, then the argument put forth by the vice-president is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the arguments stated by the vice-president rely on certain assumptions, which can be evaluated only with three key pieces of evidence. A detailed survey and analysis regarding the customers’ reasons to buy the socks, their preferences compared across all the targeted regions, and data regarding the duration for which the socks last without and with the endure process will help in evaluating the argument and ultimately deciding whether the recommendation is viable, but, as it stands, due to the paucity of evidence, the argument does not appear to hold water.