The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is recommended by the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to modify the showerheads throughout the twenty floors of the building in order to restrict water flow and increase profits. This recommendation is specious as the owner has made many assumptions that are not cogent. In order to better evaluate this recommendation, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is the water usage actually lower after the modification of the showerheads? It is possible that the water usage has increased instead of decreasing, as the owner claims. Perhaps the tenants use the shower for a longer time in order to compensate for the lower water pressure. It is also possible that the majority of the tenants have used the bath instead of the shower since the modification and are thus using even more water. If this is the case, then the recommendation is premature and will, in reality, produce the opposite effect from that which was intended by the owner.

Secondly, are the tenants of the first five floors a representative sample of the entire building? It is possible that the first five floors are only sparsely occupied and that the majority of the tenants live above the first five floors. It might also be the case that the owner has only received a "few" complaints due to the first five floors being sparsely occupied. Perhaps the majority of the tenants on the first five floors did complain, but it only seemed like a "few" due to them comprising only a smattering of the actual tenant population in the building. If this is the case, then the recommendation put forth by the owner lacks merit.

Thirdly, will the cost of modifying the showerheads in the entire building justify the profits? It is possible that the majority of the water usage is not due to the showers but rather to dishwashing, laundry, and other miscellaneous chores. Perhaps modifying the showerheads will only result in a minor decrease in water usage and will not compensate for the cost of the modification even in ten or more years. If this is the case, then the recommendation suggested by the owner is based on nothing but spurious conjecture.

In conclusion, the argument upon which the recommendation stands now is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unanswered questions. If the owner is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of water usage data prior to and after the change), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to modify the showerheads throughout the twenty floors of the building.