The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building argues that inhibiting water flow all through the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase profits of the business. He bases this assertion on the potential savings resulting from the reduction in rate of water on the first five floors of the building. However, while the author’s conclusion may seem to hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the cogency and persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, to full examine the proposed recommendation, the following three questions need to be answered.

First of all, does a lack of reported complaints indicate a dearth of complaints? That is, is it possible there is another possible cause for the absence of significant complaints? Perhaps there is no medium for residents to voice out their challenges to the management of Sunnyside Towers. It is also possible that the avenue for the reception of complaints is unknown to many of the residents in the building. Also, there is a possibility that a majority of residents do not stay on the first five floors of the building thereby leading to fewer complaints in general. If any of these scenarios has merit, the author’s contention is severely weakened.

Secondly, can the assertion of the author be made without any data? The author concedes that no actual readings have been made concerning the water usage before and after the adjustment was made. Perhaps there has been an increase in usage despite a decrease in the discharge rate. There is also a possibility that there has been no decrease in water flow. Due to lack of data, the argument does not have much merit. The owner of Sunnyside Towers will further strengthen his recommendation by backing it up with a research study that answers the above question.

Finally, even if there was a reduction in water usage, a lack of complaints from residents and consequently an increase in profits for the first five floors, is it logical to aver that the same will occur for the entire building? That is, are the two cases roughly comparable? Maybe there is a striking difference. It is possible water usage in the remaining fifteen floors is considerably different. Moreover, perhaps the first five floors use water for domestic purposes while the rest of the building requires it for industrial activities. It is also possible that the residents in the last fifteen floors are not benign. Perhaps a reduction in water flow will cause a deluge of complaints from those residents who may even decide to abandon the building and consequently engender a decline in profits. If any of these cases proves true, the contention of the author loses significance.

In conclusion, albeit the author’s argument may have some merit regarding the potential increase in profits of the company, more data (preferably in the form of a scientific research study) is needed for a firm conclusion to be reached. Provided the author can answer the specific questions posed above, then, it will be possible to fully evaluate the recommendation