Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The debate on the issue of the importance of grades and the learning process has been a long standing argument in academic organizations. Professors and scientists advocate that the quality of learning process should be given primary importance over ‘trivial’ matters like grades and GPAs. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the assertion that competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning for the following three reasons.

To begin, the main objective of education should always be to impart knowledge and generate a sense of curiosity within the students. Education at its core should be a tool to shape erudite citizens out of young students. It should be able to nurture the young minds and their ideas. For example, some of the brightest minds of the century like Stephen Hawking and Albert Einstein, never really cared about grades as such. They were so devoted in acquiring knowledge that they had no interest in scoring high grades. As there was no burden of competition for grades, they were able to focus on their research and other academic endeavors.

Moreover, high grades should be considered as a secondary result of success rather than the exclusive objective. The students who are chasing higher grades should not do so, at the cost of learning. When a student is prolific in her studies and focus more on the learning aspect, good grades are sure to follow. As such students are able to grasp the subtle nuances of the subject, they are easily able to ace the exams without worrying much about the competition. Even if they do not get good grades, they are so satisfied with their learning process, that getting average grades does not bother them much.

In contrast, some might argue that students are chasing higher grades due to the increased competition. In the contemporary times, high grades have become necessary to get admissions into reputed colleges and GPAs have become the central dogma to sort out applicants. Thus, it is obvious that some students compromise on the learning part and focus on getting higher grades. For example, the cutoff scores for Ivy league universities are so high, that it forces student who dream of attending such colleges, to isolate them from the learning process and focus more on getting very high grades.

To summarize, I believe that the main objective of education at all levels should be to impart knowledge and improve the learning experience of the students. Grades should not be thought of as an exclusive metric to judge any student. But on the other hand in some cases, competition for higher grades is healthy as long as there is no compromise on the learning process as this healthy competition does force the students to study more and thus leads to their holistic development.