Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the current competitive society, grades have become a crucial indicator of people’s capability and education has become a tool to get better jobs rather than enlightenment. The prompt recommends that the quality of education is getting limited due to competition for high grades which is a debatable topic. In my opinion, I partially agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

The main purpose of education is to enlighten a person’s mind and open up to new dynamics of the world. But there is a huge class difference in society and success means achieving a high status for which education is required. Due to such competition, students are only interested in understanding the techniques of getting high grades rather than gaining knowledge. Nowadays, practical skills are getting neglected to just memorize and do well in exams. Instead of trying to understand why a topic is required in real life or how they can contribute to society by utilizing the learned knowledge, students just want to climb the so-called ladder of success by getting good grades. It’s not like good grades are not related to learning but many students don’t try to understand what are they learning rather they just memorize the topics. Learning should make a person knowledgeable and mature, due to such fierce competition students are only working hard and focused on getting good grades. They are not enjoying what are they learning instead getting bored and frustrated. This phenomenon is causing anxiety and depression in students at such a young age.

As students and their parents are obsessed with good marks, teachers are also losing their interest in teaching their students morality. For instance, in most schools, teachers only teach the assigned books and mark the important questions for students. They don’t try to interact with students to teach them something new or motivate them to learn life skills. Consequently, students are getting good grades but their personality and skill is not developing. They may be able to secure good positions in companies with their resumes but can do provide any great contributions. Even the teachers who want to develop their skills are shut down by the entire system. All of these are resulting in poor quality of education and generating individuals without any practical skills.

Furthermore, such a race to get good grades not only deprives students of gaining appropriate knowledge but also indulges them in corruption. The greed of the students and their parents to good grades leads them to buy question papers or do other immoral things that the students from a very young age lose the ability to correct judgment which is very alarming for society. For example, in the time of board exams, it has become very common for students to get the questions through some internal links a few hours before the exams which generates a huge number of students with good results but poor in skills.

Nevertheless, competition might be causing poor quality of education but eradicating competition from students would also harm them. Competition is necessary to keep the urge alive in an individual to do well. If there is no competition, there can’t be any progress. So, healthy competition must be established between students so that they can learn without the pressure of grades and also feel the urge to improve them.

In conclusion, Competition is necessary for a society to progress but it should be balanced so that students can run toward their goals meanwhile they should not forget to enjoy learning, developing practical skills and be a good human being. Maintaining healthy competition can expand the boundaries of learning resulting in a better education system. The need for learning should be seen in a new light and enable the student to learn and enlighten the world with their achievements.