The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Convincing the opposition through an argument can be a daunting task and if you are successful in doing so, then it can be considered as a well deserved victory. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the prompt that an argument’s ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint is one of the best ways to judge the strength of the argument for the following two reasons.

To begin, when a person makes an argument for a particular cause, the main objective of that argument is to align people with similar viewpoints on that topic. But, it is certain that there will be some people with an opposing viewpoint. In a society, it is healthy to have two different opinions on the same topic so that, prudent decisions can be taken. But the decision favors the party whose argument is able to convince the opposition that their argument is better and more beneficial for the society. For example, consider the case in which two parties were debating over the construction of a highway through a residential area. Both parties had valid arguments and each of then had provided the advantages of their proposals. Now, when the debate was settled, it was found out that the citizens who were opposing the proposal, were able to convince the ‘roadways authority’ to scrap their project of building the highway through the residential area. Thus, the argument of the citizens was able to convince the opposing viewpoint. So, it can be considered the argument had a lot of strength as it was able to solve the problem amicably.

Moreover, it is not always the case that, the opposing argument is bad or has major flaws. Sometimes, it may happen that we receive constructive criticism from the opposing party and we can use that knowledge to further strengthen our argument. So, convincing the opposing party using this extra knowledge ironically gained from them, is I believe the best outcome that an argument can produce.

In contrast, we have to also consider the temperament of the opposition. If they are obdurate and will not change their viewpoint under any circumstances, then the efforts to convince them might go in vain. In such a case, it does not mean that the argument presented by us is not strong, it just means that the opposing party is not considerate enough to listen to our argument. Thus, in such cases, the definition for ‘best test for an argument’ can be modified a bit, so as to not discourage the party. Such instances are pretty common in electoral politics, when a certain party is just pushing forward with their propaganda and has ‘closed their ears’ to other arguments. Here, we will never be able to test the strength of our argument directly by convincing the opposition as the ‘best test’ is not available due to their tenacious nature.

To summarize, I believe, that convincing the opposition is one of the best test to judge the strength of any argument, but in some cases, when the opposition party is not willing to listen to you, the strength can be judged by some other parameters.